Folklore Museum – Maison Tournaisienne

Situated at 50 metres from the Grand-Place square in an authentic 17th-century building, this museum evokes daily life in Tournai during the first half of the 19th century. Rich and varied collections are exhibited in 23 rooms (1100 m²) in the form of reconstructions (pharmacy, chapel, forge, inn, kitchen, classroom), scenes with dummies and showcases full of implements and artefacts. Be sure not to miss the "jeu de fer" (a game typically played in Tournai) in the old inn and the large relief map of the city under the reign of Louis XIV (1701).

Old paintings or posters on the walls of the different rooms recreate the atmosphere of bygone times. The themes of the museum include old crafts, printing, porcelain, nobility, religion, the military, domestic tools, carnival, puppets, giants, medicine, pharmacy, education, fashion, associations, music, art and scale models of the old city.

Free admittance every 1st Sunday of the month.

Prices

Min Max
Tarif adulte 2.6 € 0 €
Tarif enfant 2.1 € 0 €
Seniors 2.1 € 0 €

Services

  • Public cible : Groupes scolaires
  • Equipements : WC
  • Services : Boutique

Horaires

Individuel:

From 1/11 to 31/03 : open from 9.30 to 12 o’clock and from 2:00 to 5:00 pm. Closed on Sunday morning and Tuesday. From 1/04 to 31/10: open from 9.30 to 12.30 and from 13.30 to 5 o’clock pm. Closed on Tuesday. Free every first sunday of the month.

Groupe:

From 1/11 to 31/03 : open from 9.30 to 12 o’clock and from 2:00 to 5:00 pm. Closed on Sunday morning and Tuesday. From 1/04 to 31/10: open from 9.30 to 12.30 and from 13.30 to 5 o’clock pm. Closed on Tuesday. Free every first sunday of the month. Maximum 25 persons.

Coordinates

Folklore Museum – Maison Tournaisienne
32-36 Réduit des Sions
7500 Tournai

50.6051 | 3.38645

+32 69 22 40 69

musee.folklore@tournai.be

Langues parlées : Anglais, Français, Néerlandais

Le Musée de Folklore – Maison Tournaisienne

A 50 m de la Grand-Place, dans un immeuble authentique du XVIIe siècle, ce musée recrée la vie tournaisienne de 1800 à 1850. 23 salles d’exposition (1100 m2) présentent des collections aussi riches que variées au travers de reconstitutions (pharmacie, chapelle, forge, cabaret, cuisine, salle de classe), de mises en scènes avec mannequins et de vitrines richement garnies. Le jeu de fer (un jeu typiquement tournaisien), dans le vieux cabaret, ainsi que le grand plan en relief de la ville de Tournai sous Louis XIV en 1701 valent à eux seuls le coup d’œil.

Toutes les salles sont tapissées d’anciens tableaux ou d’anciennes affiches qui illustrent l’ambiance d’antan. Pour chaque thématique, découvrez ses témoins du passé : les métiers anciens, l’imprimerie, la porcelaine, la section nobiliaire, la religion, les régimes militaires, les objets civils domestiques, le carnaval, les marionnettes, les géants, la médecine, la pharmacie, la scolarité, la mode, les sociétés, la musique, les artistes, les maquettes du Tournai ancien.

Visite gratuite le 1er dimanche du mois.

Tarifs

Min Max
Tarif adulte 2.6 € 0 €
Tarif enfant 2.1 € 0 €
Seniors 2.1 € 0 €

Prestations

  • Public cible : Groupes scolaires
  • Equipements : WC
  • Services : Boutique

Horaires

Individuel:

Du 1/11 au 31/03 : ouvert de 9h30 à 12h et de 14h à 17h. Fermé le mardi et le dimanche matin. Du 1/04 au 31/10 : ouvert de 9h30 à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 17h. Fermé le mardi. Gratuit le premier dimanche du mois.

Groupe:

Du 1/11 au 31/03 : ouvert de 9h30 à 12h et de 14h à 17h. Fermé le mardi et le dimanche matin. Du 1/04 au 31/10 : ouvert de 9h30 à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 17h. Fermé le mardi. Gratuit le premier dimanche du mois. Max. 25 personnes.

Coordonnées

Le Musée de Folklore – Maison Tournaisienne
32-36 Réduit des Sions
7500 Tournai

50.6051 | 3.38645

+32 69 22 40 69

musee.folklore@tournai.be

Langues parlées : Anglais, Français, Néerlandais